How about something that isn’t a rant today…

I’m at a good place in my relationship with The Novel right now. I have an ending. I’m pretty sure (finally) that I know how I’m going to get there. I am not sure how long it’s going to take me to get there, but it isn’t too far away. I’m still in a dark tunnel, but there is a glimmer of light that gives me the impression I’m almost out of it.

Once the first draft is done, I will get to bury the Novel is some deep, fell place where no light shall shine on it, where it will fester and ferment until some not-so-distant moment of time approaches and it will be brought forth into the light of day where the purifying beams of the sun will burn away the putrescence and filth and, with some burnishment, turn it into a glorious, wonderful marvel of modern literature.

Or something like that, but probably not.

More likely, I will have to undergo the painful process of revision and editing, and in this case, separating it into more digestible parts. I’m looking at the First Draft ending up somewhere around 1200 pages. Since I’m not James Clavell or Robert Jordan, I don’t think that can be considered a salable product.  With some luck, I’ll have the Draft done by the end of May, and starting the Sacred and Holy Edit in the middle of July. We’ll see.

For next project, I intend to write another screenplay. It could be the frustration of working in a novel-length format talking, but I think I might be better suited for film. My brain, I think, works closer to that way of writing, but I’m not sure, since I’ve only written one screenplay.

It could be that I’m not cut out for anything other than marketing convenience store hot-dog signage, but we won’t know until we’ve exhausted every other opportunity.

Regardless, I’m enjoying myself just putting pen to paper. I encourage you to do the same. Get a pen – right now – and some paper – also right now – and knock out a couple hundred words. It doesn’t matter on what. Start a novel. A screenplay. Write an ode to the subliminal glory that is egg salad. It doesn’t matter. Just write. I’ve always wanted to read ‘Ethel the Aardvark Goes Quantity Surveying’, but it doesn’t exist yet. You could write that.

Quite talking about it and do it already. 😉

~James

