Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve managed to more or less get a new schedule settled.  Work, home, and extracurricular activities, including writing, have the time they need.

More or less.

The one thing I haven’t been able to fit in consistently is this blog.  Yes, it only takes a few minutes, relatively speaking, to type out the words themselves, but the mental energy that goes into producing something worth reading (or trying to, anyway) often isn’t there.

Have I said I envy those people that squirt out a couple of hundred thousand word books a year in addition to having more requirements on them than I have?  They are my Heroes.

No, I’m not shutting down or abandoning the blog, but I am slowly reconciling myself to the fact that it isn’t going to be a three-post-a-week effort.  I think I’m going to be lucky to be able to keep up with putting something out on a weekly basis.

The Struggle continues.

The good news is The Novel is still going according to plan, at least in terms of production rate and hitting my goal for 200k words by Nov. 13th.  It’s probably going to be several hundred pages of steaming intestinal waste, and it might not be ‘finished’, but I will at least have made it that far.

To paraphrase Otto Lilienthal, ‘Sacrifices must be, have been, made.’

For me, blog posting frequency is one of them.  The eyes need to be kept on the prize, and internet points and followers are glorious, wonderful things, but they aren’t as glorious and wonderful as having a completed first draft.

I will keep fighting the good fight, and I hope those of you that are Struggling with the Work will do the same. If you keep writing, you’ll get there eventually.

You might even end up with something that is good.

I don’t know if my current project will turn out any good. I know that if I keep at it, knocking it down a little at a time, every day, it might.

If I don’t, it won’t.

It’s that simple.

Write on.

~James

