Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Most people think that Writer’s Block is what happens to you when the words just won’t come. No matter how long you sit in the chair and stare at the pad or the computer screen, nothing appears. The Must stops visiting. Session after session, you end where you started with blank pages looking back at you. In despair, you hunt for inspiration.

Some look in the bottom of a glass. Others search in the outdoors, or museums, or chasing after some pretty thing that’s caught their eye.

I don’t think Writer’s block is that at all, and I don’t think you can find the answer to it anywhere outside of your chosen method of writing.

I’ve been going through a period for the last four or five days that I could easily describe as ‘writer’s block.’

It isn’t that at all. It isn’t a problem of the words not coming. I’ve said before that once my butt hits the seat, it isn’t hard for me to knock something out, whether it’s a few hundred words squeezed out in the last hour before bed, or more than two thousand when I’m on a roll and there is time for me to get them out.

Writer’s Block, for me, is a cover, an excuse. The last four nights I haven’t wanted to sit and write.  It’s been easier to watch something on TV, or play Xbox for an extra hour, or read a book, than it has been to get myself up off of one chair and into The Chair and write.

In the glare of 20/20 hindsight, it is easy to see that the last four days of no production have been nothing but that – an excuse. The fifteen-plus years The Script languished on a shelf could be described in a similar fashion. Not Writer’s Block, but giving myself every reason to not pick up the pen or sit down at the keyboard.  Even my recent infrequency in blog posting can be chalked up to it.

My prescription is to sit down in the chair tonight and write. Something always comes, even if it is crap. Crap can be fixed during the revision process. You can’t fix a blank page.

And I suggest that those of you that might be ‘suffering’ from Writer’s Block to find a few minutes, get out that project that you’ve left fallow for too long, and take another crack at it.

If you try, something might happen. It might not.  But if you continue to put it off, it surely won’t.

~James

 

