Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I tried it yesterday, changing my writing time from the deepest, darkest parts of the night to the bright, sunny hours of the late, early, mid-afternoon.

It might have been the fact I wasn’t quite so tired, or looking constantly at the clock to see if it was ‘too late’ to still be up, but the change worked out pretty well. I knocked out about 1500 words (I haven’t transcribed them yet, so I’m not 100% sure of the count) in just under two hours. That is one of the better sessions I’ve had in the last few weeks.

Yes, it was a little noisy in the house. Pandora and earbuds solved that problem. Yes, I had to stop every now and again to help a child with homework or answer a question from my wife. The interruptions weren’t nearly the problem I expected them to be.

It was a great change, though, sitting down when I felt like I wanted to write, rather than having this cloud hanging over me that I ‘had’ to write before I went to bed. My procrastination triggers were easier to overcome as well. The desire to check this or that or play another turn of the other were mostly gone since I knew I had the rest of my waking hours available to get those done.

Granted, this is a test run with a limited data set, but we’ll try again today and see how it goes. It does look very promising. Sometimes, instead of trying to trick our brains into doing something, we just need to find the time it wants to work and make the necessary accommodations.

~James

