Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve had a couple of good writing days.  Last night just under 2000 words.  There is still a chance that I will get to 100k by the 17th of this month, and that is still a goal, but I’m not convinced that I will be done with the story, or at least at an ending point by then.

I have been thinking a lot about where to go with the first revision and have mentioned before that I think I might be heading towards a trilogy based on how big the story in my head is ending up when it gets on the page.

Now I’m not so sure.  The first third has some interesting stuff in it, but I don’t think it’s interesting enough to stand alone.  There is a fair amount that might do well as flashbacks.  That is all still up in the air and I doubt will be sorted out until I’m well into the revision process.  It is interesting where our stories take us and where they end up.  The uncertainty is cool, like exploring a city you’ve never been to without having a pre-conceived plan for where you’re going.

Trusted Reader #2 (currently reviewing The Script) has suggested that I take a creative non-fiction course.  Since I haven’t set foot on a college campus in 14 years, and haven’t taken an English course of any kind, this is intriguing.  I’ve been meaning to go back to school and finish my four-year degree.  That might be the mechanism to ease back into it.

Both my Trusted Readers have strong English backgrounds which is a good thing.  I don’t, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Their feedback makes a lot of sense to me on one level, but on another it doesn’t, and here is why I think that is:

I read a lot of mythology and comic books growing up.  Incredible amounts.  In both mythology and comics, especially titles written in the 60’s and 70’s, there isn’t a whole lot of personal growth and character development when you get down to it.  Thor, Batman, Perseus, Superman, et al, meet the bad guy, fight the bad buy, perhaps lose, perhaps overcome some unforeseen obstacle, go back and fight the bad guy again, and save the world or get their kingdom or whatever.  Thor is still impetuous Thor.  The Hulk still breaks things. Batman is still Batman.  They don’t change much.

Those are the stories, for all their simplicity, that I liked the most as a kid.  They still have a place firmly lodged in my soul.  The stories I try and tell are like that – a simple relation of the events that happened (or might happen).  Character development, spine, arc, growth, plot, are all things I struggle with as I write ‘grown up’ stories. That, I think, is the biggest challenge I will face on the journey.

~James

