Tags

, , ,

After being abandoned by Captain Gladys Stoatpamphlet and her Intrepid Spaniel Stig as the result of an unfortunate disagreement over the quality of the beef stroganoff being served to the Steerage Passengers, I have found myself Here.

Where ‘Here’ is, is To Be Determined. I hope to sort that out, over time.

I shan’t bore you with details about me, or my background, or anything else.  All that will come out eventually, assuming I keep this thing going.

I will say that I have two current, active projects going, which do bear mentioning.  The first, and oldest, is a screenplay.  It is the first thing of any length (other than a term paper) that I wrote and actually completed (or so I thought).  It sat in a box on a shelf for an awful long time and I thought it needed another look – maybe it might be worth doing something with (ie, sending out).

It turns out, it wasn’t.

It’s over-long and I discovered that the dialogue I wrote is atrocious. Absolutely horrible.  The general story and pacing though, with some revision, is salvagable, in my opinion.  We’ll see how it turns out.

Project #2 was initially intended to be a SF novel, basically the Foreign Legion in Space.  It is coming along pretty well – about 200 pages so far, and just under 50k words.  As a first draft, things are going all right.  Everything on paper is crap at this point, I’m sure, but at least I have something down that I will be able to work with later. The revision process is going to be brutal, but that’s part of the fun.

A recent thought has struck me about it, though.  I think I may be trying to ‘say too little about too much,’ to quote one of my English teachers, Ed Stalcup (may God rest his soul).  Mr. Stalcup always said you were better off talking too much about too little rather than the other way ’round.  He does have a point.  This may end up being a trilogy, or at least the first three books in a series (if I’m not hoping/overreaching too much).  Dare I say, this might be to Sharpe as Harrington and Seafort are to Aubrey and Hornblower – at least that is the long-term vision that is starting to develop.

Regardless, I thought it might be worthwhile to document the struggles I have so that others (assuming anyone else reads this) can learn from my mistakes.

James

PS – credit where credit is due:  I started writing the screenplay about 15 years ago, and it is all because of Matt Damon and Ben Affleck.  They won the Academy Award for ‘Good Will Hunting’ and I told myself that night that if those knuckleheads (and I mean that in a kind, loving way) could do it, why couldn’t I?

